Temporary - Full site under construction

John Belkot is a composer of concert and stage music. As a vocalist himself, John focuses primarily in contributing to new vocal and chamber music, but he also writes music and uses sound for non-traditional venues. His primary teachers include Michael Hersch, Altin Volaj, and Patrick Long, the later of whom he studied under while earning a Bachelor's degree in music composition from Susquehanna University. John recently completed his masters degree in composition at the Peabody Conservatory, where he was recipient of the Randolph S. Rothschild Scholarship and the Eugene Scheffres & Richard E. Hartt Scholarship Fund.

Over the past several years, John has enjoyed continued commissions and performances of his work throughout the United States. In 2008, his music was featured in a ceremonial concert at Susquehanna University, celebrating the school's 175th anniversary. Recent and regional performance venues include American University, the Catholic University of America, the Creative Alliance at the Patterson, Georgetown University, the Lyceum, the Peabody Conservatory of Music, and An die Musik LIVE. Last season, his works were featured at the College Music Society's 54th National Conference, The LIVEWIRE Festival, the Havertown New Music and Art Series, and the David Oppenheim Concert Series at the Stella Adler Studio. His orchestra piece, And night by the streams of the city, based on a poem by Brooklyn-based writer and poet Matt Reeck, was selected by the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and Marin Alsop, for the 2012 BSO Peabody Composer Reading.

John has served as composer-in-residence for the Johns Hopkins University and treasurer for the Baltimore Composers Forum. He is currently finishing a masters degree in theory pedagogy and pursuing a doctor of musical arts degree in music composition, both at the Peabody Conservatory. John lives in Baltimore, Maryland with his wife, Adri. They have two dogs.

Download CV

A few sample recordings:

One Square Lift [2013]
  SONAR New Music Ensemble
  April 4, 2013

Oregon Beach [2010]
  Sonya Knussen, soprano | Justin Bird, piano
  May 2011

And night by the streams of the city [2012]
  Peabody Symphony Orchestra, Hajime Teri Murai (Dir.)
  March 2012

For news, scores, commissioning information, or just to say hi, please send me a note.


  Email Address:


   Yes, add me to John Belkot's mailing list.